The Revenant

This isn’t exactly my kind of film, and it was double the length for me as it did not involve the thrill I usually need when watching films and not enough plot twists and turns for me to stay interested, but it definitely showed me why Leonardo DiCaprio deserved that Oscar (I was, at the time, rooting for Eddie Redmayne in The Danish Girl since it was the only film I saw so far – don’t get me wrong, I think Leo should win an Oscar and it was only now that I get to support that, too).

The story is pretty simple and straightforward, but it is the man against nature conflicts that make the film intense. I wouldn’t know how to deal with a bear when it’s on top of you, being protective of his/her cubs. I wouldn’t know what to do when Pawnee tribesmen chase you, mad with anger and vengeance in their search for the chieftain’s daughter. I wouldn’t know how to survive with injuries and left alone. All these make you think Leo (Hugh Glass) will die eventually, but his will to survive made him win at life.

This film has excellent cinematography. It did not utilize as much music as most films would as the production team seemed to opt for the natural sounds in every scene. It adds to the feel of the film, giving us a natural intensity driven by the acting and the situation. Dialogues can be improved, as you barely understand what some of the characters utter in the very minimal conversations they have with each other. It’s pretty much a visual art and not much of a story line to follow.

Although I would like to argue that Jim Caviezel‘s performance as Jesus Christ in the film The Passion of The Christ is very comparable (and more emotional) to Leo’s performance here and that he should win an Oscar if Leo won an Oscar for this film, but then there wouldn’t be much fruition to it, so I’d just leave that here.

Overall, The Revenant is not a film-for-all and most people might find the film a bit dull, unless you’re a fan of biopics, nature and survival themes. This isn’t exactly what I would consider to be DiCaprio’s best work, but it’s definitely a physically exhausting role that heavily relies on the character’s emotions and spirit.

//SRV

Leave a comment