Blood of Olympus: The Last Percy Jackson Book EVER

And it sucks to know that it’s going to be the last Percy Jackson book ever (well, at least, the one with a plot relating to Percy Jackson and the gang). Rick Riordan even made a teaser about it.

SPOILER ALERT.

I understand that every story has to end – in fact, everything has to end but there are just a few things you simply cannot accept to end. I’ll be missing the year-long wait for the succeeding book, I’m going to miss the anticipation and the awful cliffhangers Rick Riordan almost always uses, and I’m going to miss the thrill of reading this amazing adventure-fantasy children’s literature. It’s an amazing piece of work, both the Percy Jackson and the Olympians as well as the Heroes of Olympus series. I applaud Rick Riordan for his fascinating imagination and how he managed to make demigods come to real life in the modern time.

I’m not sure how to review this book, or how to review the entire series for that matter. It’s just one of those books that have become close to the heart that you simply refuse to see the negative side of things (or at least, overlook them) and appreciate it for what it is. Yes, I did have my own share of disappointment for this finale, but I think it was… so-so. I wanted a little more oomph, and a lot more touching moments across the entire collection of characters this series had introduced and offered. We traced their personal development all the way from Book 1, and I firmly believe there should at least be two more books to anticipate. The ending didn’t quite cut it, but it was more or less expected.

I think the book was a little too rushed. So many time jumps in-between stories that I think it should have been a thicker book. Though I know that making it longer might make the novel boring at some parts, but for a final battle to ensue, it didn’t really feel that grand to me. (Okay, I realize that at this point, I’m already explaining the let-downs of this book, contrary to what I said earlier about refusing to see the negative, etc. Haha)

But I couldn’t help but feel like it was enough. That it was perfectly ended. That it was what needed to happen. I wanted to know more about what happens after -where will Leo take Calypso? What would happen of Jason and Piper, now that Jason is pontifex maximus? What about Reyna? What of Percy and Annabeth – sure, they’re going to college, etc. But what more? What about Frank and Hazel (who I really think were both a bit too left out in this installment)? Yeah, they’re both centurions in the Roman legion now, but what next? Will Nico di Angelo start dating Will Solace?

There are so many questions to answer of which I think will be left to the imagination of the readers.

 

It’s just like Harry Potter all over again. I’m going to miss this series, and the characters it has. This book will forever be with me, and it’ll be something I’m going to keep going back to when I have the time or when I need a little adventure in my life.

On the positive side, Rick Riordan has announced his new book involving Magnus Chase (possibly Annabeth Chase’s cousin whom she has never met before because of a family feud, which I think will be related to how Annabeth’s father had a child with a Greek goddess and his brother with a Norse one. This could possibly be similar to the Kane Chronicles, where they’re some sort of priest or summoner. We’re bound to find out on October 2015.

I prefer this book cover, personally.

Riordan will also publish a “sequel” to the Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods book, titled Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes coming on August 18, 2015. I’ve read the former, and it was okay. I already knew those stories, it’s just a lot more fun reading cause Percy’s narrating them. I’ve been dreaming that maybe he’s writing these books as “extra credit” (as he mentioned in the book!) to his college degree that he’s taking with Annabeth. Obviously, Annabeth’s taking an Architecture degree. Not sure about Percy, though. Hoping for a new book to come out in the future about their life in the Roman legion!

 

I’m really thankful Riordan’s not letting go of writing about mythology – and I’m hoping he never has to.

But, really. CassJayTuck on YouTube sums up all my disappointments on-the-dot. 😦

But nevertheless, thanks a lot, Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Jason Grace, Piper McLean, Frank Zhang, Hazel Levesque and Leo Valdez for an amazing adventure you shared with us. I hope to see you all again – which would probably be a long shot. I’ll just reread the entire series some day.

If you haven’t read it yet and already started the series, you simply MUST.

//SRV

 

2 responses to “Blood of Olympus: The Last Percy Jackson Book EVER

  1. Pingback: Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes | STEPHEN VELEZ·

  2. You might be interested to know that depictions of both Hazel and Leo above are dead wrong. Neither of them are even remotely Caucasian.

Leave a comment