Disney’s The Descendants

I don’t know exactly what to say.

The film was your usual Disney Channel Original Movie, with a High School Musical vibe, probably credited to the fact that HSM director and choreographer Kenny Ortega directed the movie as well. I have to admit that “Rotten to the Core” is a certified LSS, but the other songs are pretty forgettable after the performance, and I’m not exactly fond of the “Did I Mention” rendition by Prince Ben. After listening to the soundtrack, the songs are actually great, the way it was executed on video wasn’t.

Few of the things that ticked me off were how modern the kids are, considering how long ago the stories have been (but of course, this should be left alone since kids won’t be able to relate to the old ways of life). Another one is how characters were named (Evie? Mal? At least Carlos was realistic), and the costumes seem to be a bit, too bright for those who dwelled in Auredon. I mean, did you see the colors Prince Ben and the Beast were wearing? It’s a nice shade of blue, but not for a suit. And what about the Evil Queen?It would have also been nice to see the other princesses and princes, but I understand that it would cost much more in casting.

I find the entire plot weird, but okay. I’m not sure how to make sense of that. It was acceptable, but not amazing. The promise of dealing with the descendants of the fairy tales we all fell in love with before was great. I remember hearing the news last year and I was so excited about it. Now that I’ve finally seen it, I was just okay.

Overall though, it was still entertaining. Don’t get me wrong, I know how to appreciate art, and I find the actors really great. It’s just that I feel like such a great idea could have been explored further. But I should still consider that it’s intended for kids. I’m completely off of the target market segment.

Oh well. I still love Disney. And Dove Cameron and Sofia Carson are amazing.

//SRV

Leave a comment